About 24 years ago I began meditating on Isaiah 40:31 and it’s meaning in my life.   Depending on what version of the bible you are using the verse could read 

Those who hope/wait/ long for or look for the Lord will rise . . .

Twenty four years ago I was a tuckered out young mother who was finding her back to the Lord and the faith that had been instilled in her as a young child.  I was in a new town and the only people I knew there were my husband and our four children who were  4, 2 and twins that weren’t quite 1 year old.   I had sleepless nights and busy, busy days.

I went to church on Sundays and the Priest and Warden came to visit me and welcome me to the community and to the church family.  They became an extended family to me.  Because of their ministry, instead of crying when I was tired and lonely I began reading my Bible again. 

One night, when the children had all been sick with the  flu and earache’s and whatever else and my husband was working double shifts and I was so exhausted that I was unable to sleep.  When I picked up my bible I came across Isaish 40:31 and it caused me to think about how many times Jesus was tired during his times of ministry to so many people. So tired that sometimes he had to go away to a quiet place.  And sometimes even though he tried the people would follow him around, much like my children were following me around and calling out for help.  He always had compassion on them and ministered to them.

I thought about Mary and the fact that she had more than one child and managed to raise them all according to God’s plan for her life and theirs.   She was able to do this, I believe, because she pondered often the word of God that had been spoken to her.

I thought about the woman who had been sick at home.  When Jesus left the temple and came to her house He touched her and the fever left and she was able to get up and began waiting on him and other people.  She had not only been touched, she had been filled by him, by his caring, by his presence, by his words. (Matthew 8:14-15; Mark 1:29-31; Luke 4:38-39)

I realized I needed to be touched by the Living Word of God so that I could have the emotional, spiritual and physical strength to take care of the family I had been given – my husband and my children.  I realized I needed to be filled with the Love and Life of God through the power of the Holy Spirit.

I fell asleep that night with my cheek resting on the pages of a Bible my sister had given me years before. Resting in the knowledge that I didn’t have to be a perfect wife or mother, I just needed to rest in the Word of God more frequently and allow Him to rest in me. 

I have learned through my lifetime that there are times of passive waiting and times of active waiting and both are more fulfilling when they are filled with and fueled by the Word of God resting in my heart and soul and mind.

 – All Rights Reserved –

